Did You Love The Love Hypothesis? 15 Similar Books You Should Try

Are you in search of books similar to The Love Hypothesis?

If so, you’ve landed in the right place.

Because today, we’re looking at 15 romance novels that feature either a fake or antagonistic relationship that blossoms into love.

So if you’re ready to get lost in a feel-good story, check out the novels below.

What Is “The Love Hypothesis” About?

Soon to be a motion picture, The Love Hypothesis is a beloved romance novel by Ali Hazelwood and a New York Times bestseller. 

The story is about Olivia Smith, a Ph.D. candidate at Stanford, and Adam Carlsen, a seemingly arrogant young professor who works in Olivia’s science research department.  

Olivia wants to convince her best friend, Anh, that she has no problem with her dating Jeremy, one of Olivia’s ex-boyfriends.

To get the job done, one day in the lab, Olivia grabs Adam and plants a kiss on him. 

In short order, Olivia and Adam realize that faking a relationship may be ideal for them both.

After all, she wants Anh to break “girl code” and follow her heart with Jeremy — something Anh will only do if she thinks Olivia has moved on — and Adam needs to convince the university’s board he has no intention of leaving the school — and being in a relationship would quell fleeing fears among the higher-ups. 

The Love Hypothesis explores themes related to friendship, loyalty, and the evolution of love. It’s well-written, highly engaging, and is sure to entertain any reader who appreciates a great meet-fake-cute love story.

15 Books Like The Love Hypothesis That You Should Try 

Interested in reading a book similar to The Love Hypothesis? Check out the titles below.

1. The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas

Catalina’s sister is getting married in Spain, and she needs a date. After all, she can’t let her ex, who will also be attending the wedding, know she hasn’t found love after their split. Her family is also eager to meet the “American boyfriend” she’s been lying about. 

Enter Aaron Blackford, Catalina’s work nemesis. Sure, he’s undeniably handsome, but his good looks come with a heaping helping of grumpy arrogance. That said, he’s willing to accompany her to her family’s social event of the year — and as they say, “beggars can’t be choosers.” 

But Aaron is the shadow to Catalina’s sunshine. Can the odd, fake couple make it work?

Like The Love Hypothesis, The Spanish Love Deception tells the story of a fake romance that blossoms into something else. Bonus point: It’s hilarious.

A smash hit, the book was Elena Armas’s debut novel, self-published in 2021. It quickly became a “BookTok” favorite and was picked up by Simon & Schuster soon after. A stellar first effort, it won the Goodreads Debut Novel award in 2021.


2. The Belle and the Beard by Kate Canterbary

Jasper-Anne Cleary and Linden Santillian are neighbors who are both pansexual, but their sexuality and zip code are about all they have in common. Jasper-Anne is running away from her city life, retreating to an old cottage her aunt gifted her. Linden has lived in the rural community for a long time.

At first, they clash. She’s struggling to get her life on track, and he doesn’t want to be near her drama. But in time, the pair realize they have more in common than they may have thought. Besides, they can’t seem to escape one another. 

Published in 2021 by USA Today bestselling author Kate Canterbary, The Belle and the Beard plot involves fake dating and annoyed-at-first-sight chemistry.

This neighbors-to-lovers tale is sure to charm progressive thinkers — especially those who love cats and appreciate steamy stories!


3. Lovelight Farms by B.K. Borison

Published in 2021, Lovelight Farms is the first book in the Lovelight Series by Amazon bestselling author B.K. Borison. 

It’s the story of Stella, a tree farm owner struggling to save her business and Luka, a data analyst and Stella’s close friend. 

She needs money quickly and wants to participate in a social media contest attached to a large cash prize. The only catch? She needs a boyfriend to enter. 

Luka steps up to the plate, and throughout the competition, the pair begin to discover that their friendship may be more than platonic.   

If you’re in the mood for a holiday-themed, happily-ever-after romance, don’t hesitate to pick up this title.


4. People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

People We Meet on Vacation is a New York Times best seller that won the 2021 Goodreads Best Romance award. 

It weaves the tale of wild-child Poppy and uber-chill Alex, best friends who form an incredible bond after sharing a terrible car ride. Though they live far away from one another, every year since their fateful journey, the pair meets up for a weeklong vacation.

However, their friendship broke down two years ago, and they haven’t made their annual trip since. 

But Poppy misses Alex and asks him to go on one last trip in an effort to repair their relationship. Can the friends patch things up? Can Poppy right a wrong? 

The book review outlet Kirkus likens People We Meet on Vacation to “When Harry Met Sally,” and Library Journal recommends the novel to readers who “are drawn to stories with emotion, poetic language, and a strong sense of place.”

The dialogue is quick-witted and will keep you glued to the page. So if you’re looking for your next book after The Love Hypothesis, consider picking up Henry’s popular novel.


5. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover — (It Starts with Us and It Ends with Us) — continues to engage romance readers with Ugly Love

The story centers around nurse Tate Collins and pilot Miles Archer, who are instantly attracted to one another. But due to various factors, the pair agree they can only have a friends-with-benefits situationship. She’s too busy, and a traumatic experience has closed him off to the possibility of a loving, committed relationship.

Miles makes it clear to Tate early on: Never ask about his past and don’t expect a future. 

At first, Tate thinks she can handle the rules, but she eventually convinces herself she can be the one to “change him.” But can she?

This emotional story is a rollercoaster, penned in Hoover’s now-recognizable style, so be sure you have a box of tissues nearby! It’s also a great story about finding happiness after tragedy and what it takes to cope with life’s struggles.


6. Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen

It’s 1932, and Lady Victoria Georgiana “Georgie” Charlotte Eugenie, a cousin of England’s King George V and 34th in line to the British throne, is struggling to survive. Even though she’s an aristocrat, she’s dead broke and dependent on her tight-wad brother, who is under the influence of his controlling (and obnoxious) fiance. 

Georgie does odd jobs to make ends meet and hopefully get from under her brother’s thumb. But when she finds a dead Frenchman in her tub one night, the feisty heroine embarks on an investigation.

Enter Darcy O’Mara, a titled but poor Irish gentleman. Initially, the two don’t get along. However, she needs his help to solve the mystery of the bathroom corpse. The more they work together, the closer they become. But can they start a relationship? After all, strict social rules deem the pair an impossibility. 

Rhys Bowen is a highly successful author who’s been nominated for every major mystery writing award, including the Edgar; she’s won many, including Agatha and Anthony prizes. Her Royal Spyness is the first in a 17-book series, and fans of The Love Hypothesis will surely enjoy this lighthearted mystery romance.


7. Hook, Line, and Sinker by Tessa Bailey

Fox Thornton is a sexy crab fisherman from Westport who prides himself on being an excellent flirt. Hannah Bellinger is a working woman in town for a project. While she recognizes that he’s good-looking, she’s focused on her co-worker crush.

Hannah ends up renting a room from Fox, and the two become friends. Instead of exploring possibilities with each other, he starts giving her tips on landing her colleague. But the more time they spend together, sparks begin to reveal themselves. 

But can Hannah get over Fox’s Casanova reputation? Does she want to be one of many women?

Hook, Line, and Sinker is the second book in Tessa Bailey’s Bellinger Sisters series. Published in 2022, it’s a fun story for readers who enjoy friends-to-lover romances.


8. You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria

RITA Award-winning author Alexis Daria’s You Had Me at Hola was published in 2020 and became a national bestseller. It’s the first in her Primas of Power series.

Jasmine Lin Rodriguez is a soap star who lands a role in a telenovela shooting in New York City. She’s thrilled to have the opportunity, as she recently suffered a messy public breakup, and is eager to change the headlines about her life.

Ashton Suárez is an actor on the decline. He lands the role as Jasmine’s love interest in the show; he needs it to work out to salvage his career. 

To achieve both goals, the pair must convince the viewing public that their chemistry is undeniable. So they throw themselves into their roles and agree to rehearse in private. The couple grows closer, but other factors threaten their project. Can they save their jobs and reputation, or will everything blow up in their faces?

You Had Me at Hola is hilarious, and Daria’s quick-paced writing style will keep you glued to the page. It’s a beloved book that has landed on several editor’s picks lists, including the New York Times and O Magazine. If you love telenovelas and are looking for a bit of romantic escapism, pick it up!

9. Act Like You Mean It by Shae Sanders

Fake relationships have existed since the dawn of Hollywood, and Shae Sander’s Act Like You Mean It is a fictionalized tale of the phenomenon.  

August is an actor dealing with a reputation storm. Xandra is a socialite who’s an expert at faking public relationships. August’s team encourages him to enter into a “contractship” with Xandra to save his career. 

They sign the papers and embark on a tabloid dating journey. Things start off rocky but improve, begging the question: Can the two public faces make it work for real?

Act Like You Mean It hit bookshelves in 2021 and is a fun, slow-burn romance for every celebrity gossip lover.


More Related Articles

How To Write A Personal Narrative + 5 Personal Narrative Examples

19 Can’t-Put-Down Dystopian Books Like 1984

Everything You Need To Know About Self-Publishing A Board Book


10. Marriage for One by Ella Maise 

Jack is one of Rose’s bosses, and he proposes on the first day they meet. Not because he loves her — heck, the pair don’t even like each other much — but because a romance between them would help secure a much-needed business deal.

She’s vibrant, and he’s a grumpy “suit.” Will they learn to appreciate each other outside their working marriage of convenience?

Like The Love Hypothesis, Marriage for One centers on a fake couple who work together. Published in 2019, it’s a slow-burn romance, and Maise’s writing is engaging. However, if you prefer shorter novels, be warned that Marriage for One is over 500 pages.


11. The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

Jess Davis is a workaholic single mom and statistics expert struggling to keep a roof over her daughter’s head. But she’s not closed off to finding a mate, so the data analyst puts her faith in GeneticAlly, a new DNA-based matchmaking company.

She gets paired with Dr. River Peña, the company’s founder. Ostensibly, he’s not her type. As far as Jess is concerned, he’s an arrogant, stubborn man.

But due to the pair’s high compatibility scores, GeneticAlly offers to pay Jess to give Dr. Peña a chance. If they work out, they can prove the technology works. So, the two agree to jump into a fake — and fairly public — relationship to bolster everyone’s fortunes.

Little by little, Jess realizes that River may not be as bad as she initially thought. But can they build a real union out of a marketing ploy?

The Soulmate Equation explores the crossroad between fate and choice, and it was a 2021 Goodreads Choice Awards nominee for Best Romance.

So if you love a good “science romance,” check out The Soulmate Equation.


12. From Lukov with Love by Mariana Zapata

Jasmine Santos is a world-class ice skater, but injuries and a less-than-pristine reputation are plaguing her career, and she’s unsure if she’ll need to hang up her blades for good.

Then there’s Ivan Lukov. He’s arrogant and, as far as Jasmine is concerned, an idiot. But he also needs a partner, and he’s long been impressed with Jasmine’s work ethic.

In an attempt to salvage their careers, the downtrodden athletes agree to pair up for one year. But will their distaste for one another get in the way of the master plan? Will their bickering get the better of them?

Mariana Zapata’s From Lukov with Love — a 2018 Goodreads Choice Best Romance nominee — is a tender tale infused with humor, and it’s sure to melt the heart of any fan of star-crossed love stories.


13. Things We Never Got Over by Lucy Score

Knox is a bad-boy barber and loner who’d rather spend time with his basset hound, Waylon. Naomi is a runaway bride who flees the altar to rescue her wayward twin sister, Tina, in Knockemout, Virginia — Knox’s rural town with a rough-around-the-edges reputation.

Unfortunately, Tina is still up to her old, destructive tricks and steals Naomi’s car and money, leaving Naomi to pick up the pieces — and care for her 11-year-old daughter.

Knox agrees to assist Naomi for selfish reasons. After all, if he can help her, he can return to his solitary existence. But Knox soon discovers that letting go of Naomi won’t be as easy as he anticipated. 

Things We Never Got Over was published in 2022 and is part of Lucy Score’s Knockemout series.


14. Some Kind of Magic by Mary Ann Marlowe

Eden Sinclair is a biochemist who accidentally douses herself with a pheromone formula, and that night, she finds herself in the bed of grungy international rock star Adam Copeland. The pair quickly discover they have a lot in common, despite their outward differences.

But Eden is unsure: Is the attraction a result of the “love formula,” or is Adam genuinely attracted to her?

Some Kind of Magic is computer programmer Mary Ann Marlowe’s debut novel (2017), and it has a science-centric plot, making it the perfect next book for anyone who couldn’t put down The Love Hypothesis.


15. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

If you’re a romance reader and have yet to pick up Jane Austen’s iconic book, put down everything else and pick up Pride and Prejudice. There’s a reason it’s stood the test of centuries!

Elizabeth Bennet is an intelligent woman of marriageable age who hails from a large family. Fitzwilliam Darcy is a wealthy esquire who is staying in the Bennet’s town for an extended period.

At first, the two decide they cannot stand each other. Hijinks and scandal ensue, and through it all, the pair discover they may not be as incompatible as they initially thought.

Pride and Prejudice is a slow-burn romance without an ounce of sex. But don’t let that fool you. It’s emotionally steamy and widely considered one of the best romance novels ever written.

Is There a “Love Hypothesis” Sequel? 

While there isn’t a The Love Hypothesis sequel, author Ali Hazelwood has written many other novels you’ll probably love if you’re a fan of her most famous book, including:

  • Love, Traditionally
  • Love on the Brain
  • Check & Mate
  • Stuck With You
  • Below Zero

Romance novels are an excellent way to escape the stress of everyday life. So pick up one of these titles to get lost in a story about two people falling in love despite wonky circumstances.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.